ALEKS - Assessment and Learning
   

6.1.7 Archiving Courses and Instructors

 

Archiving Options

Figure 6.4: Archiving Options

Messaging Archive Courses

Figure 6.5: Messaging Archive Courses
Instructors can archive their own courses to simplify their Instructor Module display so that only current and recent courses appear. Administrators can archive other instructors' courses and accounts. This feature is especially helpful for instructors and administrators who manage a large set of courses and instructors.
Archiving does NOT delete or deactivate courses, shared course access, or instructor accounts. Archived courses and instructor accounts are simply moved to archived folders to aid organization, but are still accessible to administrators, instructors, and students.
Archive Options. After logging into your ALEKS account, click on the "Archive Options" link (Fig. 6.1). Alternatively, you can access the feature by first clicking on the "Course" link located to the left of the course selection drop-down menu. Once on the Archive Options screen, each course is listed in a separate row with a checkbox under the column heading "Archive Instructors" or "Archive Courses" (Fig. 6.4). As you scroll through the list, each row appears highlighted to indicate the checkbox applicable to that course.
On the Archive Options screen, you can do the following:
  1. To archive, check the box next to the desired course (or instructor).

    OR

    To unarchive, uncheck the box next to the desired course (or instructor).
  2. Click "Save" to save your changes.
Once you have archived courses, you will see a section called "Archived Courses" at the bottom of your course list. Administrators will see archived instructors on that list.
The course drop-down menu does not contain any archived courses by default. If you view an archived course after selecting it from the "Archived Courses" folder, however, the course will then be shown in the course drop-down menu, and "(Archived)" will appear next to the course name. Once you select another course in the drop-down menu, the archived course will no longer be displayed.
NOTE. If administrators archive other instructors' courses, this will affect the Instructor Module display for those instructors. Instructors will see an "Archived Courses" section at the bottom of their course list after logging into their ALEKS account. If administrators archive an instructor, this will archive the instructor account and all of the instructor's courses.
Automatic Archiving. When creating a new course, instructors can check the box next to "Automatically archive this course after the end date" to automatically archive the course following the selected end date (Fig. 6.24). Instructors who wish to keep only active courses in their course list should check this box each time they create a new course.
Messaging. Through the ALEKS "Inbox," Instructors (or administrators) can still send messages to students (or instructors) after their courses have been archived.
When the instructor has at least one archived course, an "Archived Courses" folder will appear. Clicking on the "+" sign next to the "Archived Courses" folder will expand the archived courses list and display the list of students in the archived course.
If at least one instructor has been archived, administrators will see an "Archived Instructors" folder at the bottom of the instructor list. Clicking on the "+" sign will expand the "Archived Instructors" folder.